The ECORD Council is the funding entity, which coordinates a common ECORD approach to IODP policy with membership from 15 members14 from European countries (Austria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and the United Kingdom) and Canada. Membership of ECORD Council is defined in terms of signatories to the ECORD Memorandum 2013.

ECORD Membership

The ECORD Council is the assembly of all ECORD member countries represented with one Delegate (table below). The Chair and Vice-chair positions are held for a period of one year. The Council core group consists of the Chair, the Vice-chair and three additional Council Delegates, and is part of the ECORD Executive Bureau. The three major ECORD contributors (France, Germany and the United Kingdom) automatically belong to the Council core group.
The ECORD Council meets twice a year in spring and jointly with ESSAC in October/November (>> reports). EMA, ESO and ESSAC are represented by their respective Director and Chairs at each Council meeting.

ECORD Council Tasks and Interactions

  • Implementing ECORD as an integrative part of IODP;
  • Structuring of ECORD – definition of the tasks and responsibilities of its entities;
  • Approving the nominations of ECORD members on IODP Advisory Panels, of the Chairs of ESSAC, EFB and ECORD ILP;
  • Selecting and oversighting of EMA and ESO;
  • Securing sufficient funding for IODP and MSPs;
  • Deciding to conduct independant reviews of ECORD.

The ECORD Council is represented by the ECORD Council Chair and the EMA Director at the IODP Forum.


ECORD Council  Delegates & Alternates


Funding Agency

Delegate / Alternate

AustriaÖAWBernhard Plunger
CanadaNSERCDominique Weis / Kathryn Gillis
DenmarkFNUKatinka Stenbjoern / Lars Christensen
FinlandAFMinna Räisänen
France (Core group)INSU-CNRSEric Humler / Mireille Perrin
Germany (Chair)DFGGuido Lueniger / Ismene Seeberg-Elverfeldt
IrelandGSIKoen Verbruggen / Xavier Monteys
Italy (Core group)CNRMarco Sacchi / Laura De Santis
NetherlandsNWOBernard Westerop / Marc de Jonge
Norway (Core group)NFRMarkus Engelhardt / Heidi Roggen
PortugalFCTLuis Menezes Pinheiro / Sofia Soares Cordeiro
SpainMINECOJosé Ramon Sanchez Quintana
SwedenVRMagnus Friberg
SwitzerlandSNFMartina Kern-Luetschg
United Kingdom (Vice-chair)NERCMichael Webb / Jessica Surma