The ECORD Facility Board (EFB) is the key planning forum for the mission-specific platform (MSP) expeditions operated by ECORD as part of IODP.


Tasks and Interactions

  • Determining the operations schedule for mission-specific platform expeditions to implement high-priority science proposals forwarded by SEP and based upon science priorities, optimal geographic distribution and costs;
  • Approving the expedition section of the Annual ECORD Plan, including MSP operations schedule, data management, publications, core curation and engineering and scientific technical development;
  • Reviewing all aspects (science, operations, funding, outreach) related to the MSP expeditions in a year after their implementation;
  • Advising on long-term planning of MSP expeditions;
  • Issuing guidelines and best practices documents related to the implementation of MSP expeditions.

The EFB liaises with all major entities of IODP including IODP Forum, the SEP, funding agencies and Platform Providers, and the IODP Program Member Offices.




Expedition 347 Baltic Sea Paleoenvironment (D. Smith © ECORD/IODP).

The EFB is composed of a Science Board, ECORD representatives and representatives from the US National Science Foundation (NSF) and the Japanese Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology (MEXT).

The Science Board of the EFB consists of six leading scientists from any country funding IODP, namely three members from ECORD countries (including the EFB Chair), one US member, one non-US member from the JOIDES Resolution consortium and one Japanese member.

Members of the Science Board are nominated by the ECORD Council based on ESSAC recommendations to serve during three years.

The ECORD Facility Board meets once a year (>> reports).


More information about the mandate, tasks and membership of the EFB can be found in the ECORD Memorandum of Understanding.


EFB Members –  Science Board
Alexandra Turchyn (Chair) Cambridge University, Cambridge, UK
Beth Christensen Rowan University, Glassboro, NJ, USA
Gabriele Uenzelmann-Neben (Vice-Chair) AWI, Bremerhaven, Germany
Yuki Morono JAMSTEC, Japan
Jody Webster University of Sydney, Australia
Michele Rebesco OGS, Sgonico, Italy
EFB Members – ECORD Vision Task Force
France Lagroix ECORD Council Chair, France
Guido Lüniger ECORD Council Vice-Chair, Germany
Annalisa Iadanza ECORD Council Core Group, Italy
Mike Webb ECORD Council Core Group, UK
Tomas Andersson ECORD Council Core Group, Sweden
Angelo Camerlenghi ESSAC Chair, Italy
Gilbert Camoin EMA Director, France
David McInroy ESO Science Manager, UK
Kevin Johnson NSF
Gen Totani MEXT
IODP Liaisons
SEP Lisa McNeill, Tim Reston
EPSP Barry Katz, Dieter Strack
JR Facility Board (JRFB) Larry Krissek
JR Science Operator (JRSO) Katerina Petronotis / Mitch Malone
USSSP Carl Brenner
Chikyu IODP Board (CIB) Nobukazu Seama
CDEX-JAMSTEC Nobuhisa Eguchi
J-DESC Harue Masuda
IODP Forum Henk Brinkhuis
IODP Science Support Office Charna Meth
ANZIC (Australia-New Zealand) Ron Hackney
KIGAM (South Korea) Gil Young Kim
IODP China Shouting Tuo
MoES (India) / IODP India Brijesh Bansal / Dhananjai Pandey
EFB Past Members (Science Board)
Gilles Lericolais Ifremer, France
Antonio Cattaneo Ifremer, France
Gerald Dickens Rice University, USA
Stephen Gallagher University of Melbourne, Australia
Karsten Gohl AWI, Bremerhaven, Germany
Fumio Inagaki JAMSTEC, Japan
Marta Torres Oregon State University, USA
Dominique Weis University of British Columbia, Canada
Gretchen Früh-Green ETH Zurich, Switzerland
Ellen Thomas Yale University, New Haven CT, USA