Expedition Scientists


Jan Backman*
Co-Chief Scientist
Department of Geology and Geochemistry
Stockholm University
SE-10691 Stockholm
Sweden
backman@geo.su.se

Kathryn Moran*
Co-Chief Scientist
Graduate School of Oceanography and Department of Ocean Engineering
Graduate School of Oceanography
University of Rhode Island
Narragansett RI 02882
USA
kate.moran@gso.uri.edu

David McInroy*
Staff Scientist
British Geological Survey
Murchison House
West Mains Road
Edinburgh EH9 3LA
United Kingdom
dbm@bgs.ac.uk

Henk Brinkhuis*
Micropaleontologist (dinoflagellates)
Geobiology–Botanical Paleoecology
Utrecht University, Faculty of Biology
Laboratory of Paleobotany and Palynology
Budapestlaan 4
3584 CD Utrecht
The Netherlands
H.Brinkhuis@bio.uu.nl

Steve Clemens
Sedimentologist
Department of Geological Sciences
Brown University
Providence RI
USA
steven_clemens@brown.edu

Thomas Cronin*
Micropaleontologist (ostracodes)
Eastern Earth Surface Processes Team
U.S. Geological Survey
926A USGS National Center
Reston VA 20192
USA
tcronin@usgs.gov

Gerald Roy Dickens*
Inorganic Geochemist
Earth Science
Rice University
6100 Main Street
Houston TX 77005
USA
jerry@rice.edu

Frédérique Eynaud
Micropaleontologist (foraminifers)
Department de Géologie et Océanographie
Université Bordeaux 1
Avenue des facultés
c/o Bernei Housen
33405 Talence CEDEX
France
f.eynaud@epoc.u-bordeaux1.fr

Jérôme Gattacceca
Paleomagnetist
Department of Geophysics
CEREGE (CNRS)/University of Aix-Marseille 3
BP 80
13545 Aix-en-Provence CEDEX 4
France
gattacceca@cerege.fr

Martin Jakobsson*
Physical Properties/Logging Specialist
Department of Geology and Geochemistry
Stockholm University
SE-10691 Stockholm
Sweden
martin.jakobsson@geo.su.se

Richard W. Jordan
Micropaleontologist (nannofossils and diatoms)
Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences
Faculty of Science
Yamagata University
1-4-12 Kojirakawa-machi
Yamagata 990-8560
Japan
sh081@kdw.kj.yamagata-u.ac.jp

Michael Kaminski*
Micropaleontologist (foraminifers)
Department of Earth Sciences
University College London
Gower Street
London WC1E 6BT
United Kingdom
m.kaminski@ucl.ac.uk

John King
Paleomagnetist
Graduate School of Oceanography
University of Rhode Island
Narragansett Bay Campus
Narragansett RI 02882
USA
jking@gso.uri.edu

Nalân Koc
Micropaleontologist (diatoms)
Norwegian Polar Institute
Polar Environmental Center
N-9296 Tromsø
Norway
nalan.koc@npolar.no

Nahysa C. Martinez
Inorganic Geochemist
Department of Earth Sciences
Boston University
685 Commonwealth Avenue
Boston MA 02215
USA
nahysa@bu.edu

Jens Matthiessen*
Micropaleontologist (dinoflagellates)
Department of Geosystems
Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine Research (AWI)
PO Box 120161
D-27515 Bremerhaven
Germany
jmatthiessen@awi-bremerhaven.de

Theodore C. Moore Jr.*
Micropaleontologist (radiolarians)
Geological Sciences
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor MI 48109-1063
USA
tedmoore@umich.edu

Matthew O’Regan*
Stratigraphic Correlator
Graduate School of Oceanography
University of Rhode Island
Bay Campus
South Ferry Road
Narragansett RI 02882
USA
oregan@gso.uri.edu

Jonaotaro Onodera*
Micropaleontologist – Silicoflagellates
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Graduate School of Sciences
Kyushu University
Hakozaki 6-10-1, Higashi-ku
Fukuoka, 812-8581
Japan
jo@geo.kyushu-u.ac.jp

Heiko Pälike*
Stratigraphic Correlator
School of Ocean and Earth Science
University of Southampton
Southampton Oceanography Center
European Way
Southampton SO14 3ZH
United Kingdom
heiko@soc.soton.ac.uk

Brice Rea*
Department of Geography and Environment
School of Geosciences
University of Aberdeen
Elphinstone Road
Aberdeen AB24 3UF
United Kingdom
b.rea@abdn.ac.uk

Domenico Rio*
Micropaleontologist (nannofossils)
Department of Geology, Paleontology and Geophysics
University of Padova
1 Via Giotto
35137 Padova
Italy
domenico.rio@unipd.it

Tatsuhiko Sakamoto
Physical Properties/Logging Specialist
Institute for Research on Earth Evolution
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology
Natsushima-cho 2-15
Yokosuka 237-0061
Japan
tats-ron@jamstec.go.jp

David C. Smith*
Microbiologist
Graduate School of Oceanography
University of Rhode Island
South Ferry Road
Narragansett RI 02882
USA
dcsmith@gso.uri.edu

Ruediger Stein
Organic Geochemist/Sedimentologist
Department of Geosciences
Alfred Wegener Institute for Polar and Marine
Research (AWI)
Columbusstrasse
27568 Bremerhaven
Germany
rstein@awi-bremerhaven.de

Kristen E.K. St. John
Sedimentologist
Department of Geology and Environmental Science
MSC 7703
James Madison University
Harrisonburg VA 22807
USA
stjohnke@jmu.edu

Itsuki Suto*
Micropaleontologist (diatoms)
Institute of Life and Environmental Science
University of Tsukuba
Tennoudai 1-1-1, Tsukuba
Ibaraki 305-8572
Japan
sutoitsu@arsia.geo.tsukuba.ac.jp

Noritoshi Suzuki
Sedimentologist
Institute of Geology and Paleontology
Graduate School of Science
Tohoku University
Aramaki
Aoba, Aoba-ku
Sendai City 980-8578
Japan
suzuki.noritoshi@nifty.com

Kozo Takahashi*
Micropaleontologist (radiolarians/silicoflagellates)
Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences
Kyushu University
Hakozaki 6-10-1 Higashi-ku
Fukuoka 812-8581
Japan
kozo@geo.kyushu-u.ac.jp

Mahito Watanabe
Sedimentologist
Institute of Geoscience
National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science
and Technology (Geological Survey of Japan)
AIST Tsukuba Central 7
Higashi-1-1-1, Tsukuba
Ibaraki 305-8567
Japan
mht.watanabe@aist.go.jp

Masanobu Yamamoto
Organic Geochemist
Graduate School of Environmental Earth Science
Hokkaido University
Kita-10
Nishi-5, Kita-ku
Sapporo 060-0810
Japan
myama@ees.hokudai.ac.jp

ECORD SCIENCE OPERATOR PERSONNEL (AND SUBCONTRACTS)


Alister Skinner
Operations Manager
British Geological Survey
Marine Operations
Engineering and Core Store
2a Nivensknowe Road
Loanhead EH20 9AU
United Kingdom
acsk@bgs.ac.uk

Davie Baxter
Drilling Supervisor/Engineer
British Geological Survey
Marine Operations
Engineering and Core Store
2a Nivensknowe Road
Loanhead EH20 9AU
United Kingdom
dhba@bgs.ac.uk

Dave Wallis
Electrical Engineer
British Geological Survey
Marine Operations
Engineering and Core Store
2a Nivensknowe Road
Loanhead EH20 9AU
United Kingdom
dgwa@bgs.ac.uk

Colin Brett
Deputy Operations Manager
British Geological Survey
Murchison House
West Mains Road
Edinburgh EH9 3LA
United Kingdom
cpb@bgs.ac.uk

Dan Evans
ESO Science Manager
British Geological Survey
Murchison House
West Mains Road
Edinburgh EH9 3LA
United Kingdom
devans@bgs.ac.uk

Colin Graham
Database Manager
British Geological Survey
Murchison House
West Mains Road
Edinburgh EH9 3LA
United Kingdom
ccg@bgs.ac.uk

Graham Tulloch
Drilling Supervisor
British Geological Survey
Murchison House
West Mains Road
Edinburgh EH9 3LA
United Kingdom
gjt@bgs.ac.uk

Hans-Joachim Wallrabe-Adams
Database Operator
University of Bremen
Marum WDC-MARE/PANGAEA
Leobener Strasse
D-28359 Bremen
Germany
hwallrabe@pangaea.de

Alex Wuelbers
Core Curator
Bremen Core Repository
Konsul-Smidt-Strasse 30
D-28217 Bremen
Germany
b11o@uni-bremen.de

Alain Kayo
Schlumberger Reservoir
Evaluation Wireline
Pitmedden North
Kirkton Avenue
Dyce
Aberdeen AB21 0BF
United Kingdom
akayo1@aberdeen.oilfield.slb.com

SHIP MASTERS


Tomas Årnell
Master of Oden
B&N Nordsjöfrakt AB
PO Box 32
SE-471 21 Skärhamn
Sweden
tomas.arnell@bn.se

Jørgen E. Haave
Master of Vidar Viking
B&N Viking Icebreaking and Offshore
Markensgate 9
Box 204
N-4662 Kristiansand
Norway
bgn.vidar.viking@bn.se

Stanislav Smith
Master of Sovetskiy Soyuz
Murmansk Shipping Company
15 Kominterna str.
Murmansk 183836
Russia

SEACORE PERSONNEL


Tony Halliday
Drilling Supervisor
drilling@seacore.com

Danny Bennets

Shaun Curnow

Roy Mitchell

Julian Pearce

Allan Pope

Graeme Thomas

Pete Thornton

Lynton Williams

SPRS Personnel (and Subcontracts)


Anders Backman
Fleet Manager
Swedish Maritime Administration
SE-60178 Norrköping
Sweden
anders.backman@sjofartsverket.se

Anders Vikström
Associate Fleet Captain
Swedish Maritime Administration
SE-60178 Norrköping
Sweden
anders.vikstrom@sjofartsverket.se

Ulf Hedman
Logistics Manager
The Swedish Polar Research Secretariat
PO Box 50 003
SE-10405 Stockholm
Sweden
ulf.hedman@polar.se

Anders Karlqvist
Information Officer
The Swedish Polar Research Secretariat
PO Box 50 003
SE-10405 Stockholm
Sweden
anders.karlqvist@polar.se

John Farrell
Information Officer
University of Rhode Island
Bay Campus Box 52
South Ferry Road
Narragansett RI 02882-1197
USA
jfarrell@gso.uri.edu

ICE MANAGEMENT TEAM


Arno Keinonen
Ice Management Director
AKAC Inc.
877 Goldstream Avenue #311
Victoria BC V9B 2X8
Canada
arno.keinonen@akacinc.com

Göran Liljeström
Deputy Ice Management Director
Swedish Maritime Administration
SE-60178 Norrköping
Sweden
goran.liljestrom@sjofartsverket.se

Max Shirley
Ice Master
AKAC Inc.
877 Goldstream Avenue #311
Victoria BC V9B 2X8
Canada

Valentin Davidjan
Ice Master
Murmansk Shipping Company
15 Kominterna str.
Murmansk 183836
Russia

Roger Pilkington
Ice Observer/Forecaster
AKAC Inc.
877 Goldstream Avenue #311
Victoria BC V9B 2X8
Canada
r.pilkington@shaw.ca

Johan Söderqvist
Ice Observer/Forecaster
Swedish Meteorological and Hydrological Institute
Sweden
Johan.Soderkvist@smhi.se

Andrei Masanov
Ice Observer
Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute
38 Bering str.
St. Petersburg 199397
Russia
masanov@aari.nw.ru

Alexander Yulin
Ice Observer
Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute
38 Bering Str.
St. Petersburg 199397
Russia

Igor Sheikin
Ice Observer
Arctic and Antarctic Research Institute
38 Bering str.
St. Petersburg 199397
Russia
sheikin@flock0vhs.newmail.ru

OTHER SPRS PERSONNEL


Sven Stenvall
Helicopter Pilot
Kallax Flyg AB
Vargbackenvägen 1
SE-94294 Sikfors
Sweden
sven@stenvall.se

Thomas Rönnkvist
Helicopter Pilot

Jim Holmström
Helicopter Technician

Bertil Larsson
Meteorologist
bertil.larsson@klippan.seths.se

Sandy Olsson
Meteorologist
sandy.olsson@fmhs.mil.se

Per Frejvall
IT and Communications Manager
Frejvall Konsult
Freyvägen 42
SE-13338 Saltsjöbaden
Sweden
per@frejvall.com

Ingemar Pomlin
Ericsson Response
Guildford Business Park
Guildford GU2 8SG
United Kingdom
ingemar.pomlin@ericsson.com

TECHNICIANS


Luzie Schneiders
Geochemistry Technician
University of Bremen
luzie.schnieders@gmx.de

Åsa Wallin
Laboratory Technician
Department of Geology and Geochemistry
Stockholm University
SE-10691 Stockholm
Sweden
asa.wallin@geo.su.se

STOCKHOLM UNIVERSITY PERSONNEL


Tom Flodén
Seismic Technician
tom.floden@geo.su.se

Arne Lif
Electronics Engineer
aif@geo.su.se

OUTREACH PROGRAM PERSONNEL


Eric Zetterberg
Teacher
Järfälla NT-Gymnasium
Mälarvägen 2
SE-17742 Järfälla
Sweden
ezg@jakgym.net

Kathy Couchon
Teacher
Narragansett Pier Middle School
235 South Pier Road
Narragansett RI 02852
USA
kcouchon@narragansett.k12.ri.us

Hannes von der Fecht
Artist
Hochschule für Künste Bremen
Am Speicher XI 8
D-28217 Bremen
Germany
h.v.d.fecht@gmx.net

OBSERVER


Alexey Krylov
Observer
Department of Lithology and Geochemistry
VNIIOkeangeologia
1 Angliysky pr
St. Petersburg 190121
Russia
akrylow@mail.ru

* Participated in shipboard operations.