IODP will soon successfully enter its second phase (2019-2023). However, based on the preparatory phase of the current IODP (2013-2023), it is already time to think of a potential scientific ocean drilling programme beyond 2023. However, the challenges to build a successor programme to the current IODP are huge. To respond to such a challenge, ECORD has decided to organise a workshop aiming at initiating concepts and defining new goals for a future international scientific ocean drilling programme to be developed beyond 2023. Special emphasis will be on new science frontiers and technological developments in a multiple drilling platform approach.

The workshop, entitled PROCEED – EXPANDING FRONTIERS OF SCIENTIFIC OCEAN DRILLING, will be held at the Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna (Austria), on 6 -7 April 2019, right before the 2019 EGU.

>> Download the flyer

The PROCEED Organising Committee is composed of several ECORD representatives and members of its Scientific Committee have been nominated by ESSAC and have accepted to serve on this committee. The Scientific Committee will define the final format of the workshop and will also consider propositions submitted by the ECORD science community.

The objective of the PROCEED workshop is to produce a White Paper, which will summarise the scientific, technological and  programmatic goals for ECORD beyond 2023. This document will constitute the foundation for interactions with our IODP partners who will also start to get organised in 2019 at their national/consortium level. The coordination of all these actions to build a new programme is still to be defined.

If you want to attend the PROCEED workshop and take part in the building of the ECORD’s future,
please register by email to before 17 February 2019.

To register please indicate 1) your career stage (early career: < 6 years; mid term: 6-15 years; senior: > 15 years after PhD, 2) your expertise and 3) IODP science theme(s) to which your research is related. 

Depending on the number of applications, priority will be given to representatives of the ECORD community.

PROCEED Scientific Committee

Chiara Boschi Institute of Geosciences and Earth Resources, Pisa, Italy
Rosalind Coggon University of Southampton, UK
Adélie Delacour Université Jean Monnet, Saint-Étienne, France
Tom Dunkley-Jones University of Birmingham, UK
Matthias Forwick UiT The Arctic University of Norway, Tromsø, Norway
Marguerite Godard Université Montpellier, France
Patrick Grunert University of Cologne, Germany
Michelle Harris University of Plymouth, UK
Verena Heuer MARUM, Germany
Helga Kleiven University of Bergen, Norway
Walter Kurz University of Graz, Austria
Andrew McCaig University of Leeds, UK
Juliane Mueller AWI, Germany
Usidean Nicholson Heriot-Watt University, UK
Matt O’Regan Stockholm University, Sweden
Appy Sluijs Utrecht University, Netherlands
Michael Strasser University of Innsbruck, Austria


PROCEED Organising Committee

Gilbert Camoin EMA
Nadine Hallmann EMA
David McInroy ESO
Antony Morris ESSAC
Gabriele Uenzelmann-Neben EFB
Werner Piller ESSAC