Member of the MagellanPlus Steering Committee


The MagellanPlus Workshop Series Programme is co-funded by ECORD (European Consortium for Ocean Research Drilling) and ICDP (International Continental Scientific Drilling Program) and designed to support scientists in developing new and innovative science proposals to meet future challenges in Earth, life and environmental sciences. For this purpose the MagellanPlus Workshop Series Programme funds workshops and/or scientists that are expected to lead to or foster high-quality and innovative scientific drilling proposals for submission to IODP and ICDP.
The programme has two calls call annually, and also releases special calls when appropriate. Proposals are reviewed by the MagellanPlus Steering Committee (MSC), with the advice of external reviewers where applicable. Proponents will be notified of the outcome within two months following the submission deadline.
In addition to workshop funding, the MagellanPlus Workshop Series Programme supports the participation of ECORD and ICDP scientists in international IODP and ICDP workshops held in other countries.
For more information about the role and duties of MagellanPlus Steering Committee Members please contact Lucas Lourens (Chair of MagellanPlus) –

We in particular encourage applications with expertise in seismic stratigraphy/sedimentology, but welcome applications from all fields covered by the new 2050 Science Framework (
The successful candidates are expected to attend two Steering Committee meetings per year (February and May), which are held online. Appointments are normally for three years (six meetings).

Applications should be emailed to the ESSAC Office ( by 1 March 2022. Provide a single PDF that includes: (i) a CV; (ii) a letter of interest including your specific expertise, previous involvement in DSDP/ODP/IODP expeditions or panels, and research interests; and (iii) a publication list.

For further information or questions, please contact the ESSAC Office: 

ECORD Science Support & Advisory Committee
Angelo Camerlenghi (ESSAC Chair)
Hanno Kinkel (ESSAC Science Coordinator)

Istituto Nazionale di Oceanografia e di Geofisica Sperimentale – OGS
via Beirut n. 2
34151 Trieste – Italia