The MagellanPlus Workshop Series Programme is co-funded by ECORD and ICDP and designed to support scientists in developing new and innovative science proposals to meet future challenges in Earth, life and environmental sciences. For this purpose the MagellanPlus Workshop Series Programme funds workshops and/or scientists that are expected to lead to or foster high-quality and innovative scientific drilling proposals for submission to IODP and ICDP.

Supporting Workshops

The programme has one call annually and also release special calls when appropriate. All MagellanPlus calls have a deadline on 15 January. Proposals are reviewed by the MagellanPlus Steering Committee (MSC), with the advice of external reviewers where applicable. Proponents will be notified of the outcome within two months following the submission deadline.

Corint Rift

Proposals should follow the themes of the IODP and ICDP Science Plans and will include complete and realistic scripts for the proposed workshop. A funded workshop must be executed within 12 months after notification of funding. A typical workshop is expected to take place over 2-4 days, and have 20-35 participants. The workshop should be located in an ECORD country, close to a convenient air and/or train hub and have relatively low-cost facilities.

The contribution will not exceed 15,000€ per workshop.
Priority is given to ECORD and ICDP member countries.
The participation of young scientists is particularly encouraged.

Contact: Lucas Lourens –

Supporting Scientists

In addition to workshop funding, the MagellanPlus Workshop Series Programme support the participation of ECORD and ICDP scientists in international IODP and ICDP workshops held in other countries. There is no call so proposals for these funds and a request should be submitted by the organisers of the workshop to Lucas Lourens (Chair of MagellanPlus). The proposal will briefly describe the workshop’s aims, agenda and setting and will include a list of ECORD/ICDP member country scientists to be supported, with their CV and motivations to attend the workshop. Travel support will not exceed 1,500 € per scientist.

Contact: Lucas Lourens –

Upcoming Workshops

  • Volcanic, tectonic and hydrothermal processes in an island-arc caldera environment (Santorini-Kolumbo marine volcanic system)
    21-23 November 2017, Athens, Greece

Participation: Scientists who are interested to take part in a workshop should contact the convenor (see flyers or links).

Past Workshops

Reports of the workshops are available below. A summary of the report is published in Scientific Drilling Journal and ECORD Newsletter

  • Carbon cycling at the ultra-slow Arctic spreading ridge system
    6-8 September 2017, Bergen, Norway – flyer – report pending
  • Australasian Regional Workshop for building new IODP proposals
    13-16 June 2017, Sydney, Australia – report
  • Tyrrhenian Magmatism & Mantle Exhumation (TIME)
    5-7 June 2017, Bologna, Italyreport
  • Caldera Drilling – Campi Flegrei
    25-28 February 2017, Naples, Italy – report
  • Bend-Fault Serpentinization: Implications for plate dynamics, Earth’s deep carbon and water cycles, and deep life
     18-20 June 2016, London, UK – summary link – report pending
  • Antarctica’s Cenozoic Ice and Climate History: New science and new challenges of drilling in Antarctic waters
    9-11 May 2016, College Station, TX, USA – report
  • Brazilian Equatorial Margin – BEM II
    30 March 30 – 1 April 2016, Ubatuba, Brazil – report
  • Haiti-DRILL: A window to the North Carribean active “sliding doors” fault system through scientific drilling
    26-28 October 2015, Rueil-Malmaison, France – summary – report pending
  • Submarine Paleoseismology: Using giant piston coring within IODP to fill the gap in long-term records of great earthquakes
    16-18 July 2015, Zurich, Switzerland – report
  • Mantle, Water and Life: the ultramafic-hosted Rainbow hydrothermal field
    10-12 June 2015, Lyon, France – report
  • IMAGE: Investigating Mediterranean-Atlantic Gateway Exchange
    5-8 May 2015, Rabat, Morocco – report
  • Drilling the Cretaceous Palaeogene Tropical South Atlantic
    2-4 February 2015, Newcastle, UK – report
  • Newfoundland Drilling for Climate Dynamics: Filling the Oligo-Miocene gap in the North Atlantic
    15-17 September 2014, Heidelberg, Germany – report
  • Advancing Sub-surface Biosphere and Paleoclimate Research
    21-23 August 2014, Seoul, South Korea – report
  • Accelerating Neoproterozoic Research through Scientific Drilling
    March 17-19 2014, Keyworth, UK5report
  • BLACKSINK: Black Sea History of the Past 15 Ma
    27-28 February 27-28, Utrecht, The Netherlands – report
  • IODP Drilling within the Corinth Continental Rift, Greece
    11-14 February 2014, Athens, Greece – report
  • DREAM II: Deep-Sea Record of Mediterranean Messinian Events II
    20-23 January 2014, Paris, France – report
  • ISOLAT: Integrated Southern Ocean Latitudinal Transects
    23-25 September 2013, Cambridge, UK – summary6
  • DREAM: Deep-Sea Record of Mediterranean Messinian Events
    5-8 May 2013, Brisighella, Italy – report
  • Advancing our Understanding of Cretaceous Ocean Dynamics by Scientific Ocean Drilling
    15-17 April 2013, London, UK – report
  • Drilling an Active Hydrothermal System associated with a Submarine Intraoceanic Arc Volcano
    15-17 November 2012, Lisbon, Portugal – report
  • Records of Geohazards and Monsoonal Changes in the Northern Bay of Bengal
    8-9 October 2012, Bremen, Germany – summary
  • Magellan Workshop Series Programme (2006-2011)

Members of the MagellanPlus Steering Committee

Chair: Lucas Lourens (IODP) – – Paleoclimate (Cenozoic)

Vice-Chair: Johan Lissenberg (IODP) – Oceanic lithosphere

Stefano Bernasconi (IODP) – Geochemistry

Verena Heuer (IODP) – Deep biosphere

Anne Le Friant (IODP) – Geohazards

Werner Piller (ICDP) – Stratigraphy/Carbonates

Michele Rebesco (IODP) – Seismic stratigraphy/Sedimentology

Marit-Solveig Seidenkrantz (IODP) – Paleoclimate/Paleogeography

Ales Spicak (ICDP) – Seismology

Karsten Haase (IODP) – Marine petrology

Past Members

Rüdiger Stein (AWI Bremerhaven)
Jochen Erbacher (Chair)